Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
Yes, as long as you do not end your drivble, palm the ball or step into some else's space.
Yes it is. The ref is considered part of the floor.
Normally, when you jump, you are considered to be in the court from which you jumped. BUT, there are three exceptions to this principle as far as back court violations are concerned: 1) on a jump ball, 2) on a throw in, and 3) when a defender jumps from his front court and intercepts the ball in the air and lands in his back court.
So to answer your question directly, no violation in either case if the ball is caught on the throw in.
The ref is part of the floor. If he gets in the way there is no relief. The ball is awarded to the opposite team who touched it last.
Audiologist
Social Network Security Manager
Zookeeper and Animal Trainer
To take a charge, a player must establish legal guarding position. That does not mean you have to stop. For example you could be defending while moving backwards, and you get run over - you established your right to the space, which is legal guarding position and it is a charge.
If i understand the question, what happens when a defender legally pushes on the ball in opposte direction of the offensive player? Answer = held ball, go the possession arrow.
No obligation. The circumstances where an official must halt play is imminent danger or glasses/contact lenses on the floor. For example if A1 is injured but not in imminent danger, the officials should allow Team B to finish their attack until they back off the original play. As soon as B's drive ends or if they kick the ball back out to reset, then the officials should stop play for the downed player. If the player was bleeding or about to be trampled, then they should halt play immediately
If your shoe falls off, play continues.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)