Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

I saw something tonight I have only seen twice in my career. A shooter shoots the ball and air balls it but he then catches it. Is that a violation? Or as long as he is shooting and not passing the ball is it a legal play.

Asked by Scott over 9 years ago

In NFHS rules, a shooter can retrieve an airball shot before any other player touches the ball as long as the shot was a legitimate try.

I'm not sure if there is another page where I can ask this question or not, if there is just let me know... I'm currently in the military and we run an intramural league and we follow the NFHS rules, we are trying to clarify a proper call to further help educate our league/ refs/ and coaches..... We had an instance where a shooting foul occurred, so the Shooter went to the line, however before the first FT the opposing team made an illegal substitution which resulted in a technical foul. So dead ball, technical foul the team gets to shoot whoever they choose to shoot those technical FTs. After those FTs, what should the refs do? They had a shooting foul before the Technical, does the shooter still get their FTs? To they get their FTs and the ball? Or do they get the tech FTs and the ball out of bounds? We tubal you for your time and any help clarifying a rule in a situation like this would be greatly helpful

Asked by Paul almost 10 years ago

Sir, thank you for your service! The answer to your question lies in a simple rule of thumb: administer fouls in the order they occurred. So, clear the lane, let the original player shoot his free throws or one and one. Then, the same team can choose any player on the floor to shoot the technicals, then award the ball at half court for the same team.

Team A rebounds the ball and tries a long pass to player in front court. Team B player with both feet in Team A's back court jumps and intercepts the pass but lands with one foot on each side of the half line. Is this a back court violation

Asked by John F over 9 years ago

No violation. Normally, an airborne player is considered to be from the court position where he was when he jumped. So, in your example, Player B jumps from his front court, catches the ball and lands in his backcourt (partially), This would normally be a violation. However there are two situations where this principle does not apply. 1) either team on a throw in, and 2) a defensive player intercepting a pass (exactly your scenario). No violation because of exception # 2. Play on.

So I am coaching as a volunteer children (8-10) we came to a critical point in the game and I called "TIME TIME TIME" -- The ball was then turned over and the ref turned to me, with me saying nothing, and he said"you have to say TIME OUT" Is this so?

Asked by konopisos@yahoo.com about 10 years ago

The NFHS rule book lists one of the officials' duties is "granting time-outs". It does not specify that the words "time-out" are used. For example coaches can get a time out by signaling his hand in a "T". So if I heard a coach yelling time, time, time, I would grant that time a time-out.

Hi, so nowhere in the college rule book does it mention throwing/slamming the ball down is a technical foul, yet it gets called a tech regularly. Seems it could be used very arbitrarily against a team. Why is it a tech when it's not in the rule book?

Asked by Laura over 9 years ago

The rule book does not prohibit tossing the ball to the ref, nor does it prohibit a player from talking to the ref...yet if either is done in an unsportsnanlike way it could be a technical. If you slam the ball to protest a call most refs will call a t. So it goes to the judgemeny of the ref as to whether an action is unsportsmanlike.

Article 5 of the college bball rules says a pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the court before a pass or shot. But I see no restrictions on the non-pivot foot. Lift the pivot, hop all the way to the basket on the non-pivot??

Asked by JJinVista over 9 years ago

you may step on your non pivot and then lift your pivot but it you step down on what was your pivot foot, or slide or hop on your non-pivot foot it is traveling

Also, is there a rule from preventing a player from stepping into a jump on a tip-off(to obtain a higher jump)?

Asked by Casey over 9 years ago

A jumper can step into the jump but any other player cannot until the ball is tapped.