Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
As I have stated before, refs can ask the home management function to eject fans from the gym. The refs have to be careful because after the game they may have to answer to the assignment chairman after the coach or principal complains. Anyway, during a game if I wanted to eject a fan I would not let the game proceed until the fan was ejected.
You cannot travel or double dribble on a free throw. Likewise, a player is allowed to dribble in the paint will standing behind the free throw line. Unless the count was closing in on 10 seconds, I would return the ball to the free throw shooter and start a new 10 second count.
Here is the definition of "held ball" in the rule book:
A held ball occurs when 1…opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without due roughness, or 2…an opponent places his/her hands on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.
In the first instance, control cannot be obtained. In the second instance the offensive player starts with control but then loses the ability (i.e.. control) to pass or shoot. So I think you are splitting hairs - each of you are right and wrong in definition 1 vs 2.
The technical fouls offset and we go to the possession arrow for a throw in at half court.
School Bus Driver
Firefighter
CBP Officer
If team A controlled the tap, then they established team control, and it would be a backcourt violation. If in the judgement of the officials team A did not control the tap, then no violation.
yes, the arrow changes once the ball it at the disposal of the throw in player.
If it is "incidental", that is if the offensive player does not gain an advantageous benefit from the contact, then I would pass on the foul. BUT, if the defender is knocked back, or his legal forward momentum is disrupted to the detriment of his defensive positioning, then it is a player control foul (formerly called "a charge."
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)